World Tapas day celebration in Brussels


Last 22nd of October the Spanish Tourism Institute (Turespaña) celebrated the National Tapa Day in collaboration with Saborea España. The event took place all over the world with a program of 127 activities in 17 countries, thanks to the Spanish Tourism Offices Network in Belgium, United Kingdom, Germany, France, Austria, Denmark, Ireland, Sweden, Netherlands, Portugal, Switzerland, U.S, Argentina, Mexico and Japan.

Brussels was the headquarter of the two main activities. During the morning, a press conference took place with Pedro Larumbe (President of Saborea España), Ana Redondo (Culture and Tourism of Counsilor of Valladolid), Rafael Chamorro (Marketing Vice principal of Turespaña) and professor Frédéric Duhart from the Basque Culinary Center.

During the press conference the World Tapas Day project and the activities that took place throughout the entire day were presented, as well as the study “The tapa: the experience behind a bite of Food”, produced by the Basque Culinary Center and sponsored by the DOCa Rioja.

taa buena

In the afternoon, an event was organized at the Hôtel de la Poste. Over 150 people from the tourism, media and communications sector and the European institutions attended. They had the chance to discover the Spanish gastronomy through its wines and tapas of the six different Saborea España destinies that were exposed: Cambrils, Denia, Lanzarote, Segovia, Valladolid and Zaragoza.



Eight brilliant chefs participated in the event that was organized thanks to the collaboration of the Official Spanish Chamber of Commerce in Belgium and Luxembourg and many other Spanish companies related to the world of gastronomy:

  • Rubén Campos Albiol (Club Náutico de Cambrils).
  • Fernando González Garcia (restaurante El Raset)
  • Bati Bordes Seva (restaurantes El Marino y El Marino Rotas)
  • Luis León Romero (restaurante Grill El Toro)
  • Jesús Orlando Ortega de León (restaurante El Lilium)
  • Oscar Hernando (restaurante Casa Silvano ”Maracaibo”)
  • José Ignacio Castrodeza (restaurante Villa Paramesa)
  • Carlos Hernández (restaurante El Candelas)